From AIFWiki
Revision as of 02:51, 28 February 2021 by RooK (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Occupations are the fields in which a character may have expertise. There are four distinct types of occupation that a being can choose from: combat, discipline, science/technology, and miscellaneous. Combat occupations are obvious; they involve skills used when fighting. Discipline occupations are those that involve practicing in a certain function, involving skills that are not necessarily combat oriented. Science/technology occupations are the class of occupations that require theoretical study in order to master the skills. Occupations in the miscellaneous group, having unique characteristics, are not related to any other occupations.

See category:Occupations, and Custom Occupations.


To gain a stage in an occupation, a being must increase their experience. The amount of experience that a character gains depends highly on whether they are engaging in activities related to the occupation they are working towards. Usually, a character will state what occupation they are working towards before the referee will award any experience.

Obviously, different occupations require different types of preparation. To prepare for a combat occupation, a character will usually engage in combat, using the techniques associated with that particular occupation. A discipline type occupation requires that a character prepare by attempting the feats usually accomplished by this occupation, and, if possible, being guided by another that has already mastered the occupation. A science / technology occupation requires, above all else, study.


The benefits of each occupation are described on a per stage basis. The benefits include increased stamina and increased bonuses relating to the particular occupation. Occupations are cumulative. That is, every stage you gain in an occupation gives additional stamina and bonuses of one stage of that occupation. A character is literally the sum of its occupations.

Also, there are cases when a being will not be able to gain a stage in a particular occupation, such as the case of a lack of intelligence.

  • Intelligence Requirement - this is the minimum intelligence that a being needs to gain a stage in this occupation.
  • Stage Stamina - the amount of stamina that a character may gain upon completion of one stage of this occupation. This value is given as a number of dice to roll plus the corresponding range.
  • Bonuses - these are numerical traits of an occupation, outlining the basic abilities. In the case of a range of bonuses, they will be listed with the corresponding roll of a six-sided die (D6).
  • Maximum Stages - there comes a point when a being has learned all he can in a certain field. This value refers to the maximum stage that a being can have in this occupation.
  • Description - a detailed explanation of the occupation, including all of its abilities and describing its strengths and weaknesses.


If a character gains his experience through game play and general experience, then the bonuses he receives will be the standard roll described in the particular occupation. However, in cases where the character has had specific training in an occupation (referee discretion), the bonuses received will automatically be the maximum allowed in the range.

The values under intelligence requirement and maximum stages are not carved in stone. They can be ignored in special circumstances, such as advanced training of some kind.


Some of the combat occupations are weapon specific. Sharp Shooter receives experience only with accurate weapons and Striker specializes with edged weapons. With the occupation of Aggressor, the experience only apply to one type of weapon. The weapon type must be chosen by the being trying to gain the occupation.


While there are cases where a character has only one type of occupation (e.g. a third stage guerrilla, or a second stage technician), a character having a variety of occupations is much more common and often more effective. Some combinations are very effective and have been given a designation of their own to describe the type of character. They are:

Shock Trooper

A Shock Trooper has at least one stage of each of the following: Aggressor, Defender and Repeater. They are capable combatants, effective in most situations. A Shock Trooper focuses on inflicting the most punishment in the shortest amount of time, while being able to survive most encounters. Hand to hand shock troopers are possible too, in which case Aggressor may be substituted with Striker.


A Sniper has at least one stage of each of the following: Assassin and Sharp Shooter. They will often have a stage of Scout as well. The Sniper focuses on death from a distance. Unlike Shock Trooper, a Sniper doesn't fair well in a close-quarters battle especially if there are effective hand to hand combatants. However, in situations where the Sniper is hidden or isn't in the immediate line of fire, they can be the most deadly.


A Sapper has at least one stage of each of the following: Munitionist, Technician, and Scout. Large scale destruction is the Sapper's forte. They are the masters of sabotage, with the ability to sneak into an enemy base, foiling any security devices they encounter, and either planting an explosive, or causing an existing device to detonate (I knew we shouldn't have gotten that antimatter power source...). They can be quite effective... as long as they can get away before the detonation.

Shock Shooter

A Shock Shooter has a stage of Repeater, Sharp Shooter, and Aggressor (choosing the Shock Shooter option). A Shock Shooter is a highly offensive combination with minimal defensive bonuses. A Shock Shooter can aim and attack in the same round. So, in a typical 2D attack, they would attack with 4D. An all aggressive attack is almost always an automatic hit.